Sarkari Results Guru

Indian Railway Jobs and Railway Recruitment Board Jobs

Indian Railway Jobs | Indian Railway Recruitment Board Jobs 2020

Get Information about all the Indian Railway Jobs and Rail Recruitment Board ( RRB ) jobs here. We will post all the latest updates for recruitment of RRB, IRCTC Jobs here as soon as it gets released by various Government Organisations of India. You will get all the required information from this page.

Latest Indian Railway Jobs | Railway Recruitment 2020 Updates

Indian Railway Jobs - FAQ's

How to apply for Railways Jobs ?

Visit the Railways Jobs page on SarkariResultsGuru. Then browse the latest jobs available in the Latest Indian Railway Job Section.
Look for the job notification you are interested in and read the notice thoroughly and apply for the job following the instructions.

What are the type of jobs available in Railways ?

Railway Jobs are classified into 4 classes : 
Group A, B, C and D.

Group A is the highest grade which comprises of non-technical, technical and medical services.
Non-Technical Service includes :

  • IRTS - Indian Railway Traffic Service
  • IRPS - Indian Railway Personnel Service
  • IRAS - Indian Railway Accounts Service
  • IRPFS - Indian Railway Protection Force Service

Technical Services includes :

  • IRSE - Indian Railway Service (Civil) Engineers
  • IRSEE - Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers
  • IRSME - Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers
  • IRSS - Indian Railway Stores Service
  • IRSSE - Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers

Medical Services includes :

  • IRMS - Indian Railway Medical Service

Group B officers are not recruited directly. Rather the system works on promotion of Group C post candidates.

Group C is the subordinate staff positions like Goods Guard, Assistant Locomotive Pilot, Assistant Station Master, Ticket Collector, Supervisors, Clerks, Skilled Labors, Para Medical posts, Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, Signal and Telecommunication Engineers,Commercial Apprentice, Traffic Apprentice, Senior Time Keeper, and many more.

Group D consists of post like Gateman, Helpers, Porter, Trackman, etc.

What is RRB ( Railway Recruitment Board ) ?

RRB - Railway Recruitment Boards are organizations under the Government of India. It manages the appointments of new employees to work in Indian Railways.
There are 21 boards situated across India :

  • Ahemadabad
  • Ajmer
  • Allahabad
  • Bangalore
  • Bhopal
  • Bhubaneswar
  • Bilaspur
  • Chandigarh
  • Chennai
  • Gorakhpur
  • Guwahati
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Kolkata
  • Malda
  • Mumbai
  • Muzaffarpur
  • Patna
  • Ranchi
  • Secunderabad
  • Siliguri
  • Thiruvanthapuram

These 21 RRBs conduct rcruitments for technical and non-technical services. Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) conducts computer based examination for recruitment of ALP & Technician posts.

What is RRB NTPC ?

Railway Recruitment Board (RRB) conducts Non Technical Popular Categories (NTPC) exam to recruit Commercial apprentice, Goods guard, Traffic Apprentice, Traffic Assistant, Assistant Station Master etc. all over India.

What is the Eligibility Criteria for Railway Jobs ?

For Group A

  • Undergrad from Central, State, Deemed University.
  • Distance degree or an equivalent Government recognized qualification
  • Bachelor’s degree in Engineering
  • MSc in Wireless Comm, Electronics, Radio Physics, Radio Engineering
  • Passed MBBS Examination (written and practical)

For Group B : 

One cannot apply for Group B posts directly as the Group B officials are promoted from Group C posts.

For Group C : 

  • Diploma in Engineering
  • 10th pass/SSLC + ITI from certified Board
  • Graduate or equivalent from recognized university
  • 12th Pass or equivalent
  • Graduation Degree or Diploma in Rail Transport and Management

For Group D

Minimum of 10th pass or an Industrial Training Institute (ITI) certificate from either the National Council for Vocational Training or the State Council for Vocational Training.
Should be between the age of 18 to 31/33 years (with age relaxation for OBC/SC/ST) and have Indian citizenship.

How many Zones are there in Indian Railways ?

Indian Railways currently has 18 zones which are as follows :

Central RailwayCRMumbai
Eastern RailwayERKolkata
East Central RailwayECRHajipur
East Coast RailwayECoRBhubaneswar
Northern RailwayNRDelhi
North Central RailwayNCRAllahabad
North Western RailwayNWRJaipur
North Eastern RailwayNERGorakhpur
Northeast Frontier RailwayNFRMaligaon (Guwahati)
Southern RailwaySRChennai
South Central RailwaySCRSecunderabad (Hyderabad)
South Coast RailwaySCoRVisakhapatnam
South Eastern RailwaySERKolkata
South East Central RailwaySECRBilaspur, CG
South Western RailwaySWRHubballi
Western RailwayWRMumbai
West Central RailwayWCRJabalpur
Metro RailwayMTPKolkata
Which jobs are available for 12th Pass in indian Railways ?

Jobs like Locomotive Pilot, Apprentice, TTE, Assistants, Clerks, Technicians and many more.

What are the benefits of Railway Jobs ?
  • Railway Jobs are Secure and thus you can have a stable career and is recession proof.
  • Railway offers residential quarters to its employees.
  • Railway employees get free medical care in Railway hospitals.
  • Employees can avail the facility of subsidized meals and refreshments at any of the Railway canteens all over the country.